Untitled Header Image

About World Beef Expo

Each year people from around the country visit Milwaukee for one of the Midwest's largest cattle expositions – World Beef Expo.  Almost 600 exhibitors from 15 states exhibited cattle at the 2023 World Beef Expo. The Open and Junior Shows had over 1100 entries.  The 2024 World Beef Expo, which takes place September 19 - 21 at Wisconsin State Fair Park, will be the 32nd year of the show. During Expo 2023 we were excited to host an Angus ROV Show and more than two dozen other breed point shows. In addition to the Open and Junior Cattle shows, World Beef Expo offers a wide variety of activities. A Youth and Collegiate Cattle Judging Contest, Youth  Showmanship, and an indoor/outdoor trade show round out the schedule of activities.

People of all ages come to see and show beef cattle while enjoying a weekend of fun with friends and family! All Events are open to the public. We invite you to join the fun at the 2024 World Beef Expo! We do not charge an admission fee. There is a parking fee to enter the grounds. 

2024 World Beef Expo will be held September 19th - 22nd. 




Friends of World Beef Expo Award

The Friends of World Beef Expo Award is presented annually to one or more people who have been chosen in honor of their service throughout the years to World Beef Expo. It is because of these people that the Expo has continued to grow througout the years. The Friends of World Beef Expo award is sponsored by Greg and Eileen Miller.

Friends of World Beef Expo Award Receipients

2023 - Bruce Thorson, Rudolph WI
2022 Jim Renn, 
Hartland WI
2021 Kermit Rhiner - Poynette, WI
2020 Ken Hartzell - 
2019 Andy Hornung -Cottage Grove, WI
2018 Dave Delong, Janesville, WI
2017, All past winners were honored at the 25th Anniversary Celebration.
2016 Shawn and Nancy Doherty, Watertown, WI.
2015 Mark Brede, Panora, Iowa


The 2022 Friend of World Beef Expo Award was presented to Jim Renn

L to R: Greg Miller, Jim Renn & Eileen Miller 




The Paul May Award

The Paul May Award is presented each year to someone who has done an outstanding job of supporting the World Beef Expo. Recipients are selected by the World Beef Expo Board of Directors for their dedication and commitment to making the World Beef Expo a success. The list of recipients include volunteers for a specific project, long term board members,  long time breed representatives, and others who have given their time and energy to promote the World Beef Expo.  The work of these individuals has greatly contributed to the continued success of this top notch beef show. 

The Award is named for Paul May who was the first President of the World Beef Expo. He was instrumental in organizing the first shows and his commitment and dedication contributed to the overall success and longevity of the World Beef Expo. 

Paul May Award Recipients 
1993: Paul May- Mineral Point, WI 
1994: Mike Siemens- Smithfield, VA 
1995: John Weiskircher- Shullsburg, WI 
1996: Ardel Quam- Lodi, WI 
1997: Tim Erickson- Buffalo, MO 
1998: Dick Hauser- Richland Center, WI 
1999: Dr. Robert Walton- Deforest, WI 
2000: Angie Siemens- Smithfield, WI 
2001: Sally Stryffler- Wooster, OH
2002: Dr. Tom Beckett- Birnamwood, WI 
2003: Nancy Thomas- Cobb, WI 
2004: Melvin Haak- Polo, IL 
2005: Diane Handsacker- Lena, IL; Daria Stransky- Owatonna, MN
2006: Tom Tomaw- Barneveld, WI 
2007: Terry & Diane Kegley - Burlington, WI 
2008: Gregg May – Mineral Point, WI 
2009: Glenn Erickson – Neenah, WI 
2010: Greg Miller - Lancaster, WI
2011: Brian Bolan - Oconomowoc, WI
2012: Jerry Huth - Oakfield, WI
2013: Jim Murray 
2014: C.J. Brown - Lindenwood, IL



Past Paul May Award winners at the 25th Anniversary









Board of Directors

It takes many volunteers to make World Beef Expo run smoothly.
Our committees and board members work year-round to organize and build a successful expo.


Cody Quam President Term 1, Year 3
Erica Crouch Vice President Term 2, Year 3
Kevin Bobolz Treasurer Term 1, Year 3
Dakota Thomas Secretary Term 1 Year 2
Stephen Kohl   Term 2 Year 1
Tim Klaffke   Term 2, Year 1
Sierra Day   Term 1, Year 2
Chris Utegg   Term 2 Year 2
Cole Chapman   Term 1 Year 1
Jeff Swenson Ex-Officio